EDUCATION IN BRITISH COLUMBIA.

Elementary Education.—The public or common schools of the province are organized in accordance with the provisions of the Public Schools Act, which prescribes in considerable detail the powers of the Council of Public Instruction, the duties of the Superintendent of Education, of the school inspectors and of the teachers. It is provided that all public education shall be free, and that it shall be secular in the sense that there shall be no religious education, although the highest morality must be inculcated. Education is compulsory upon all children between the ages of 7 and 14, provided that there is a school within a reasonable distance of the child's home. For education purposes the province is divided into municipal and rural school districts, and the schools are of three classes, viz., municipality schools, rural schools and assisted schools. The municipality schools are subdivided into four classes, according to the average actual daily attendance of pupils, the government grant varying according to the class. Assisted schools are those established in outlying districts by sums granted specially by the provincial government. The local management of the schools is in the hands of trustees elected by the ratepayers, the number varying according to the classification adopted by the Act and as prescribed therein. The schools are supported partly from the provincial treasury and partly by the sums raised by the district assessments. In the common schools there are three grades: the junior, the intermediate and the higher.

Secondary Education.—The term "common school" is used to distinguish the elementary from the superior or high school. Wherever there are ten pupils qualified and available for entrance to high school studies a superior school may be formed in connection with the existing common school. The subjects of the junior high school course may be taught in the superior school. Wherever 20 or more pupils are qualified and available for high-school studies a high school is established. high school course is divided as follows: the preliminary course, junior grade; the advanced course, junior grade; the intermediate grade; the senior grade and the senior academic grade. There is also a commercial course covering two years of school life. Except in the case of the common schools the passage from one grade to another is determined by an examination conducted by the Education Department. In June each year an entrance examination for admission to the high schools is conducted, and no pupil may enter a high school who does not possess the entrance certificate. There are normal schools for the training of teachers at Vancouver and at Victoria.

Higher Education.—At the present time and for the past ten years the interests of higher education in the province are and have been served by the McGill University College of British Columbia, an institution with two branches, one at Vancouver and the other at Victoria, and both affiliated to the McGill University at Montreal. In the Vancouver branch, the first, second and third years in Arts are carried on, as well as the first and second years in Applied Science, while in Victoria the first and second years in Arts only are provided for. The examinations are the same as those of the parent institution in Montreal. It is expected that the McGill University College of British Columbia